Need custom-made LCDmodules for experimental display

ottkosmoses

Hello
Im an artist from East-European country Estonia.
One of my late projects I'm trying to get working involves lo-fi 3d animations. It is rather similar to analogous LEDmatrix displays (http://www.das-labor.org/wiki/Blinken_Borgs) only instead of using led lights I am planning to use LCD technology. In that way The modules could be side by side and whole recongnizable objects could be built out of 3D-pixels. Beacause of trancparency of LCD-modules the Inner-pixels could be viewable too. (Im not yet sure if one can see thru so many layers on polarized glass)
The idea is to make the specialized animation software with simulator public so that everyone with interest could make their own lo-fi animations and watch what others have done thus far and when the object itself will be ready (if the project can make it over critical thersold) it could be physically exhibited in different places with best animations from community.

Now, If anyone knows are there this kind of LCD.modules out there or a place where one could order a quantity of 3400 to be made.
The size of one unit would be preferably about 2X2cm.
Looking for additional LCD resources? Check out our LCD blog for the latest developments in LCD technology.

Attachments

At the risk of revealing my ignorance, I will offer a speculation on this idea. The transmissivity of a single LCD glass sandwich is not greater than about 50%, assuming a non-polarized light source. So for n layers of LCDs in a plane, the light throughput would be 0.5^n; e.g. 10 layers = 0.5^10, or about 0.1% transmission, 8 layers would be about 0.4%.

ottkosmoses

Thats what i was afraid of and I'm surprised it took so long for me to realize that. Anyway, could anyone suggest alternative to LCD. The concept itself is so logical, im amazed I cannot figure out in witch way to do it physically. :confused: