Convert KS0107/08 to COG driver?

envisionelec

I have a COTS product which uses the KS0107 driver on its 128 x 64 display. I am wanting to downsize the front panel and have found some COG (chip on glass) displays attractive....BUT. They are no longer using the driver ICs, moving to a new SED-1565 or similar one-chip replacement.

I'm not a programmer - and probably never will be, but I'm handy with the hardware. Is there a fairly cost-effective way to convert this data from KS0107 to that used by another driver IC? An investment of under $1000 for this conversion design would be appreciated. After all, I'm just a dude working out of my garage. ;) Quotes welcome. :)

Also, does anyone have experience ordering a "special" display - one that needs a polarizer or backlighting option? Are the MOQ high?

Regards,
Aaron Hammett
Envision Electronics
Looking for additional LCD resources? Check out our LCD blog for the latest developments in LCD technology.

envisionelec

What do you mean "convert this data"??

If you are not a programmer, what do you use to control the displays?
I don't use anything - the display is already working in a commercial product.

Honestly, I don't understand the confusion. I have a device that currently uses a Samsung-controlled LCD display, and I want to use a display that uses a different driver.

The question is: Can an interface be built to make this conversion?

Last edited:

CF Tech

Administrator
To make the conversion with external hardware would probably be a project of greater magnitude than the current device. It would take an FPGA that "understands" KS0107 control signal talk and can then "speak" to the SED-1565 hardware.

Somewhere in your existing project, someone has already written some embedded code that talks to the KS0107. The only practical way to put a SED-1565 display into your project would be to find that code, and modify it to talk to the SED-1565.

envisionelec