I am a delphi developer - looking for help

chasingame

First all this is my first post here. I have not made a purchase but I do feel that the XES635BK unit is what I need for a project that I have.

I am delphi 7 developer. Can anyone give me advice on this first. Also, I would like to see if there is a way I can ramp up my development by using a 3rd party toolkit.

My application involves presenting menus and submenus to the user and having them change options then save the results back into a .ini (.xml) file. This is all I really want to accomplish. Of course, I have a delphi application that will load with Windows and I would like to interface with it.

I have envisioned something like the following:

1) Computer boots and launches my application
2) I try and detect the XES635BK unit for some period (asy 30 seconds)
3) If not detected I go into a normal run mode and operate off current settings
4) If XES635BK is detected I go into a menu presentation mode (interactive)
5) At the end of the session (either user has not pressed any keys in some minutes [timeout] or user pressed the "save and exit" option) I will then enter the "run mode" in my application after loading in the user updated settings.

Request 1:
What I would like to see is if someone has a toolkit, possibly active X, that will insulate me from the serial communications and allow me to get straight into the menu building.

Request 2:
I would like to find a system (toolkit) that would allow me to "spec" out the menus and options with values (like in an xml file) then use this data at runtime to generate the menus and option selections with out having to recompile the application each time. After all its just menus and options followed by a "save" operation. I would enjoy just changing the menu file and then being able to access these new menus or options on the XES635BK unit at runtime and ultimately be able to save any changed options in the .xml file.

Can someone give me advice on this ?