Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Max field lengths in crystalcontrol 1.06

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2005/10
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    3

    Max field lengths in crystalcontrol 1.06

    Hi there,

    Apologies if this as already been discussed, I searched but couldn't find it. I just bought a new motherboard, so my network adapter has changed names. The problem is that the name is now longer than the older one, and when I try to change my configuration in crystalcontrol I find that I seem to have hit the maximum field length. This is my current string:

    Case:~MBMTC1~C Tx~PM03\Network Interface(Marvell Yukon 88E8001_8003_8010 PCI Gigabit Ethernet Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport)\Bytes Sent/sec~ Rx~PM03\Network Interface(Marvell Yukon 88E8001_8003_8010 PCI Gigabit Ethernet Contr)\Bytes Received/sec~

    Notice on the second NIC statement that the text "oller - Packet Scheduler Miniport" is missing - each time I try to add it I just hear a beep to tell me that it won't allow any more characters in there.

    Any suggestions?

    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2001/11
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    2,666
    Thats a long perfmon name

    Sorry, nothing can be done about this other than trying to change the device name somehow to make it shorter.
    I dont know if this is even possible though
    CFA835, cfTest, CrystalControl2 Author

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2005/10
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    3
    I looked around the net to see if there was a way to rename the interface but couldn't find one. The thing is that my previous interface was also quite long - it had packet scheduler miniport on the end as well.

    I think a better way to put it is that my string isn't extremely long - but the maximum length of this field is extremely short. I can't be the only one to notice this...

    Are there any other alternatives, what's this Cyrstalcontrol2 thing all about? Can I use it?

    Mark

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2005/10
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    15
    Originally posted by CrystalControl Admin
    Thats a long perfmon name

    Sorry, nothing can be done about this other than trying to change the device name somehow to make it shorter.
    I dont know if this is even possible though
    You can rename the device to make it shorter but its a very messy operation (I did this when I had a network driver for Win NT 4.0 ages ago)

    Basically you need to edit the device name in the INF driver file for the device and then uninstall the current driver and re-install your new one.

    You would think the manufacturer would have used common sense with the device name when writing the driver and its a wonder Microsoft don't have a restriction/requirement on device name length for the driver to get Windows Certification.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2005/10
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    3
    Originally posted by n0saj

    You would think the manufacturer would have used common sense with the device name when writing the driver and its a wonder Microsoft don't have a restriction/requirement on device name length for the driver to get Windows Certification.
    To be fair to the manufacturer - do you really think it is that unreasonable? Many of the drivers have packet scheduler miniport apended to their names. In this case the new NIC was only a few characters longer than the old one. Remember also that the property names (which come from the registry) must also appear on the statement which goes into Crystal control, and these texts (such as Bytes received etc) are also quite long, and have nothing to do with the manufacturer.

    In my case all I wanted to display on 1 line was case temperature, transmit speed and receive speed - not really a complicated request.

    Going back to the manufacturer - would they really expect that somewhere out there would be a program with an extremely small maximum field length that would run into problems. If asked about this I'm sure any manufacturer would explain that software should not be written to have such restrictions....

    Mark

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2008/02
    Posts
    2
    I had the same problem so I created a patch to change field length from 255 characters to 999 characters.

    Available here --> http://www.elyhypnotherapy.co.uk/Cry..._106_Patch.exe

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •