Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Im a pro!

Votes: 3 75.0%
  • Huh?

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters

webmaster02

Hi!

I am an experienced VB Programmer with advanced console knowlege in c++. Is there some source code or instructions on how to use VB or console C++ to interface with a serial display? I have downloaded the source to your program and, since I dont know MFC, I have no clue. I have never written a program to interface with low level processes with VB. Can it be done? And if so, how? Would I have to write a c++ dll to interface with the card? Is there such of a thing in the vast internet?

Also, I am interested in purchasing the 632 and I have a question. Since it is a serial connection, is it best to pop a hole in the back of my case with a dremel and patch the serial cable into the connectors on my motherboard? Is there some sort of internal serial card that can be used, sort of like a scsci card (im dating myself)? Also, Is the LCD display powered by the serial card? For some reason, I dont see any power supply...

wow... thats a lot of questions... :) ... but really only three

Thanks so much!

Brad Taylor
Looking for additional LCD resources? Check out our LCD blog for the latest developments in LCD technology.

M

MWP

Q1)
VB can do it... but dont ask me how, i dont know VB.
Writing C++ apps in Windows is somthing you should learn how to do, its much more powerful than VB. I would recommend looking at Borland C++ Builder instead of MFC, itll be easier to learn.

Q2)
Not sure if there are internal serial cards avaliable.
But just looping the cable from outside at the back of the case, through a spare slot to the LCD inside the case is the way its normally done.

Q3)
The LCD can be powered by the serial cable.
The LCDs backlight needs to be supplied by a 5V line which there are connectors for on the LCD.

webmaster02

Thanks for your help... but I have to disagree with you on the VB thing....